Multiple DUI/DWI Charges Lawyer in Roxbury, NJ
Experienced DUI Attorney for Multiple DUIs in Morris County, New Jersey
People facing DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey are understandably worried. Their driving privileges, their freedom, and their finances are at risk. When they face charges arising from subsequent drunk driving arrests, the stakes are even higher. Drivers with one or more prior DWI/DUI convictions should immediately find an experienced lawyer, as the consequences of multiple drunk driving convictions in New Jersey are very serious.
Serious Charges Demand Serious Lawyers: Talk to a Knowledgeable Morristown DWI Defense Lawyer
At the Morris County, NJ law firm of Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz in Morristown, the criminal and traffic defense lawyers handle all DUI/DWI charges, including those arising from second, third, and fourth arrests. The firm’s attorneys have the knowledge and experience needed to determine the correct legal strategy when defending against these high-stakes charges and to seek the best outcomes possible for clients.
Penalties for Second DUI/DWI Conviction in New Jersey
New Jersey is serious about both preventing and punishing driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs. The stiff penalties imposed on those with more than one DUI conviction within 10 years are proof of this:
- Fines, fees, and surcharges that can amount to more than $4,000
- Up to 30 days of community service
- Mandatory participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) program
- Jail time up to 90 days
- Two years of license suspension (minimum)
- An ignition interlock device after license suspension is lifted
In addition to increased insurance rates, you may have difficulty obtaining insurance at all. You will need to arrange to travel to work, chauffeur your children to school and activities, and make everyday trips that drivers take for granted until they are no longer able to drive. People whose job requires driving are especially vulnerable after a subsequent DWI/DUI conviction. They may become unable to work and could experience severe financial challenges.
Third and Fourth DUI/DWI Conviction Penalties in NJ
Not surprisingly, the penalties for a third or fourth offense within 10 years of a previous DUI/DWI conviction are even harsher. Fines, jail time, license suspension time, and the number of required days of community service all increase significantly. If you were driving while suspended and the suspension was for a previous drunk driving conviction, you will face criminal penalties as well as the penalties for the traffic offense of drunk driving.
Why Hire Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz to Fight DWI Charges in Morristown?
The firm’s attorneys are known for their persistence and thoroughness when examining a client’s legal options. They examine all the traffic stop and alcohol testing evidence carefully to identify weaknesses in the prosecution’s case. Additionally, one of the partners is a former New Jersey criminal prosecutor. This allows the legal team to anticipate the response of the court to particular strategies in drunk driving cases.
Contact a Morris County, NJ DWI/DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing a second or third drunk driving charge, an experienced DWI defense attorney can make a big difference. Contact Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz for a free initial consultation to learn how the firm’s lawyers can help. Schedule an appointment today by calling or by filling out our online contact form.
We can help you fight a charge for second offense DWI or third offense DWI anywhere in Morris County, NJ, including Parisppany, Rockaway Township, Denville, Dover, Florham Park, Kinnelon, Madison, Netcong, Riverdale, and Rockaway Borough.