Free Consultation: 973.267.8895

973.267.8895

DUI Defense Lawyers in Morristown, New Jersey

Drunk Driving Defense Attorneys Serving Morris County & Beyond in NJ

The state of New Jersey takes driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI or DWI) very seriously. As a result, the penalties for arrest and conviction of DUI are harsh. Moreover, people with a DUI conviction on their records face many challenges even after the legal process has finished. It is important for them to take steps to minimize the consequences as much as possible so they can move forward with their lives.

Contact a Morristown Traffic Defense Attorney After a DWI Charge

A conviction for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) can have severe consequences for you and for your loved ones. The best way to address the problems created by a DUI/DWI arrest is to work with an experienced drunk driving defense attorney. At the law firm of Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz, our lawyers provide experienced representation and counsel to clients facing drunk driving charges. To learn how we can help you, contact our Morristown law firm for a free consultation.

DUI/DWI Cases Handled by Morris County Criminal and Traffic Defense Lawyers

The attorneys at our firm defend clients against all DWI/DUI charges. They also help clients with related issues, such as driver’s license suspension. Clients seek us out for vigorous representation when they face:

The law firm’s attorneys, including a former criminal prosecutor, will examine and investigate all the possible strategies for reducing or dismissing the charges. Did the officer have reasonable suspicion that your driving indicated you were under the influence? Was the breathalyzer machine properly calibrated? Did the arresting officer tell the truth about the way you were driving? Are there independent witnesses who can speak to your driving and how the officer treated you during the stop? The firm’s DUI defense attorneys will seek to answer these and other questions in order to obtain the best outcome possible under the circumstances.

Penalties for DUI/DWI Conviction in New Jersey

Being arrested on suspicion of drunk driving is only the beginning of the process. Law enforcement will seize your license and impound your car. They will charge you with driving under the influence and request a trial date. If you are convicted on a first offense, other penalties could include:

  • 30 days of jail time
  • 90 days of license suspension
  • Fines, fees, and surcharges
  • Mandatory alcohol counseling
  • Ignition interlock device

In addition to these legal penalties, intangible penalties include problems at your job or at school, increased car insurance premiums, and complications in your personal life because you cannot drive. The stakes are high; having a strong defense from the legal team at Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz can make a difference.

Contact a Morristown DWI/DUI Defense Attorney Today

Retain an experienced lawyer to defend you against a DWI charge. Contact Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz for a free initial consultation to learn how our attorneys can help. Schedule an appointment by calling us or via our online contact form.

Our Blog


  • Family Law & Divorce FAQs

    When a married couple decides to get divorced, questions typically arise over previously shared property rights, child custody, and spousal support. The two parties may not agree on how to best resolve a disagreement, and mediators or the court system may have to step in to resolve the situation. If you are unable to come to […] Read More


  • Top Five Things to Do If You Get Arrested

    Don’t let a simple error in judgment negatively affect your freedom and your future. If you made a mistake and were arrested for a crime in NJ, it is critical that you take steps to avoid making matters worse. Moreover, even if you are completely innocent of the charges, a false accusation can still destroy […] Read More


  • The Consequences of Violent Crime in New Jersey

    A violent crime occurs somewhere in New Jersey every 22 minutes, according to the 2014 Uniform Crime Report. A non-violent crime happens in Jersey every three and a half minutes. In addition: A New Jersey murder happens in every 24.1-hour period A New Jersey rape happens every 9.5 hours A New Jersey robbery occurs in […] Read More

Thank you!

Someone from our office will contact you shortly.

"You will not find a better firm than this firm! The best defense attorney firm there is, and also the best PI and matrimonial lawyers there are."

- Lisa Cutner-Piernot