Free Consultation: 973.267.8895

973.267.8895

Cocaine Possession Attorneys Mt. Olive, NJ

New Jersey Drug Crime Lawyer Defends Clients Against Cocaine Possession Charges in Essex County and Morris County, NJ

Possession of cocaine, even in small amounts, is an indictable offense in New Jersey. If convicted of cocaine possession, you may face prison time and heavy fines. At the very least, you will have a criminal record that could make it difficult for you to get or keep a job in the future. That is why you need an experienced NJ criminal defense attorney to help protect your rights and your future when facing cocaine possession charges in Morristown, Denville, Mt. Olive, Roxbury, or anywhere else in Morris County, New Jersey.

At the Morristown law firm of Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz, our criminal lawyers work hard to minimize the consequences of cocaine possession charges for our clients. We will look closely at how police obtained the evidence against you and determine whether a search violated your constitutional rights. Did law enforcement officers obtain a coerced confession? Did they question you without offering access to an attorney? Did they have a valid reason for stopping your motor vehicle in the first place? When we find that police acted illegally and violated your rights, we seek reduction or dismissal of the cocaine possession charges. With former prosecutors on our legal team, our criminal attorneys know how the state builds a drug possession case because they have done it themselves. Clients facing cocaine possession charges find this to be a significant advantage when it comes to winning their cases and beating the charges against them.

Penalties for Cocaine Possession in Morristown, New Jersey

New Jersey law makes possession of less than half an ounce of cocaine a third degree indictable offense. The penalties if convicted include:

  • Fines between $35,000 and $75,000.
  • A maximum five-year state prison sentence.
  • Community service if you are within 1,000 feet of a school property with cocaine.
  • Loss of your driver’s license.
  • Required drug rehabilitation program.

If police found more than half an ounce of cocaine in your possession, the prosecution may charge you with possession with intent to distribute. You could be facing significant prison time and fines of up to $500,000 if convicted of possession of cocaine with intent to distribute at the second or first degree level.

Alternatives to Incarceration for First Offense Cocaine Possession in Denville, NJ

Despite the strict penalties for individuals convicted of cocaine possession, New Jersey has pre-trial intervention (PTI) programs that may be available to some first-time non-violent offenders charged with cocaine possession. Our knowledgeable criminal attorneys are vigorous advocates for alternative sentencing options that include treatment and rehab, non-custodial probation, monitoring, and community service for drug offenses. If the person charged with cocaine possession successfully completes the PTI program, the court will expunge or seal the person’s criminal record, making it unavailable to schools, potential employers, and landlords. Our attorneys can advise you about your eligibility for a PTI program if you face charges of cocaine possession.

Contact Our Morris County Criminal Defense Lawyers to Discuss Your Cocaine Possession Charges in Parsippany, NJ

If you have been charged with possession of cocaine in New Jersey, do not put off finding an experienced drug crime defense lawyer. To learn how our experienced Parsippany criminal attorneys can defend you and seek the best possible outcome to your case, call Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz in Morristown, New Jersey. You may also contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation.

Our law firm handles cocaine possession cases throughout Morris County, NJ, including Morristown, Parsippany, Denville, East Hanover Township, Washington Township, Victory Gardens, Boonton Township, Harding Township, and Dover, NJ.

Our Blog


  • The Difference Between Fault and No-Fault Divorce in NJ

    In the state of New Jersey, married couples can file for a divorce based on fault or no-fault. These distinct categories are important because couples who are seeking a no-fault divorce will be required to separate for a period of 18 consecutive months. This separation period is important to courts because it proves that there […] Read More


  • Determining Liability in a Crash Involving a Borrowed Vehicle

    Getting behind the wheel of someone else’s vehicle because your car is broken down or in for repairs can be a very stressful situation. Not only are you operating someone else’s property, what happens if you are involved in an accident? Too many people assume that car insurance covers them no matter the vehicle they […] Read More


  • Devastating School Bus Crash in Burlington County

    The Medford Lakes community is saddened to report that a multi-bus crash occurred while several school buses were carrying students from a summer day camp. Medford Lakes, NJ Accident Causes Hospitalization of 21 Children ABC 7 Eyewitness News was able to capture aerial footage of the accident scene. Several school buses have collapsed front ends, […] Read More

Thank you!

Someone from our office will contact you shortly.

"You will not find a better firm than this firm! The best defense attorney firm there is, and also the best PI and matrimonial lawyers there are."

- Lisa Cutner-Piernot