Unlawful Possession of a Weapon Attorney Morristown, NJ
Aggressive New Jersey Criminal Lawyer Represents Clients Charged with Gun Crimes Like Unlawful Weapon Possession in Morris County and Essex County, NJ
New Jersey’s confusing gun laws can entrap even the most law-abiding citizens. Moreover, visitors to the state with firearms purchased legally in their home states may unknowingly find themselves in violation of the state’s strict weapons possession laws. Because penalties for conviction are strict, it is important to find an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who can safeguard your rights and your future if you face charges for the unlawful possession of a weapon in NJ.
At Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz, our NJ criminal defense attorneys include former prosecutors for Essex County and Morris County, New Jersey. They know from their own experience how the prosecution will build a handgun possession case against you. In addition, the Supreme Court of New Jersey has certified another partner at our law firm as a criminal trial attorney, a certification awarded to only a very small percentage of lawyers in the state. Clients know that our criminal defense lawyers will build strong defenses that seek the best possible outcomes while protecting their rights in weapon possession cases.
Examples of Weapons Possession Charges and Penalties in Parsippany, NJ
Weapons possession charges in New Jersey cover a variety of violations, including:
- Possessing a firearm for unlawful purposes, such as the commission of a crime.
- Possessing an illegal weapon such as a sawed-off shotgun, a gun with a silencer, a machine gun, a defaced firearm like a gun without a serial number, knives and clubs, hollow point and dum-dum bullets, and other types of weapons and ammunition.
- Possessing a weapon as a convicted felon, a person on probation or parole, or someone who was in a mental institution.
- Possessing a legal gun without a license or permit.
- Possessing a weapon as a juvenile.
- Possessing a weapon at school.
- Possessing a stun gun.
- Possessing a BB gun, airsoft gun, or paintball gun.
Penalties for conviction on unlawful possession of a weapon charges may include incarceration from 18 months to 10 years in the New Jersey state prison system, depending on the degree of the weapons possession offense. Unlawful possession of a weapon offenses range from second-degree to fourth-degree crimes and are often a component of other serious criminal charges, such as robbery, burglary, and assault. Additionally, under the New Jersey Graves Act, a conviction for illegal possession of a handgun could lead to the imposition of penalties that include a mandatory minimum term of incarceration.
Call Our Morris County Criminal Defense Attorneys About Your Handgun Possession Charges in Denville, NJ
Contact our Morristown criminal defense attorneys today to learn how we can defend you against charges of unlawful possession of a weapon in Parsippany, Dover, Denville, Roxbury, Rockaway, Morristown, Boonton, Washington Township, or elsewhere in Morris County, NJ. Call us or use our online contact form to schedule a free initial consultation.