Free Consultation: 973.267.8895

973.267.8895

Sexual Assault Attorneys Parsippany, NJ

Morris County Aggravated Sexual Assault & Rape Defense Lawyers Serving Clients in New Jersey

Sexual assault is a felony crime in New Jersey, punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison. Aggravated sexual assault is a felony crime in New Jersey, punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison.

If you have been charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault in New Jersey, do not put your freedom in jeopardy. Retain an experienced criminal defense attorney who will aggressively defend your rights.

Call the sex crime defense lawyers at Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz. Our criminal defense attorneys have more than 100 years of combined experience. Moreover, our criminal defense team includes a former prosecutor and a certified* criminal trial attorney.

Rape | Statutory Rape | Sexual Assault and Aggravated Sexual Assault in Denville, NJ

In New Jersey, a person accused of forcible rape will typically be charged with aggravated sexual assault, whereas a person accused of statutory rape (sex with a minor) could be arrested for either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, depending on the age of the alleged victim.

An aggravated sexual assault can occur in a number of different ways, including:

  • Sex with a minor who is less than 13, regardless of whether force was used or threatened
  • Sex with a minor age 13-15 if the alleged offender is a parent, relative, or person acting in certain positions of authority
  • Sex with an adult or minor if the alleged offender uses a gun, causes severe bodily injury to the alleged victim, or the alleged victim is incapacitated or helpless

Sexual assault occurs when an alleged offender has sex with a minor between the ages of 13 and 16 and the alleged offender is at least four years older than the minor. Consent is not a defense to sexual assault.

Since a conviction for either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault can result in significant criminal penalties, including prison time and mandatory registration as a convicted sex offender, it is critical that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

Contact Experienced Morristown Sexual Assault Defense Lawyers

To speak with one of our Morristown sexual assault defense lawyers, call or contact us by e-mail.

Charged with sexual assault in Morris County, New Jersey? We help clients fight violent sex crime charges in Parsippany-Troy Hills Township, Morristown, Mount Olive Dover, Hanover Township, Kinnelon, Roxbury Township, Jefferson Township, Mendham Borough, and Wharton, NJ.

Our Blog


  • The Difference Between Fault and No-Fault Divorce in NJ

    In the state of New Jersey, married couples can file for a divorce based on fault or no-fault. These distinct categories are important because couples who are seeking a no-fault divorce will be required to separate for a period of 18 consecutive months. This separation period is important to courts because it proves that there […] Read More


  • Determining Liability in a Crash Involving a Borrowed Vehicle

    Getting behind the wheel of someone else’s vehicle because your car is broken down or in for repairs can be a very stressful situation. Not only are you operating someone else’s property, what happens if you are involved in an accident? Too many people assume that car insurance covers them no matter the vehicle they […] Read More


  • Devastating School Bus Crash in Burlington County

    The Medford Lakes community is saddened to report that a multi-bus crash occurred while several school buses were carrying students from a summer day camp. Medford Lakes, NJ Accident Causes Hospitalization of 21 Children ABC 7 Eyewitness News was able to capture aerial footage of the accident scene. Several school buses have collapsed front ends, […] Read More

Thank you!

Someone from our office will contact you shortly.

"You will not find a better firm than this firm! The best defense attorney firm there is, and also the best PI and matrimonial lawyers there are."

- Lisa Cutner-Piernot