Illegal Firearms Possession Defense Attorneys of Dover, NJ
Felon Gun Charge Lawyers Defending You In Morris County & Beyond
New Jersey has strict gun laws. Violating them is a criminal offense. When combined with federal laws defining who can possess firearms, the NJ gun possession laws makes it difficult for some people to own weapons legally. For instance, people who have been convicted of committing a felony are prohibited by federal law from owning a weapon. If these people are found guilty of the charge of felon in possession (or a certain persons offense), they will have another felony conviction on their records. Worse yet, some gun crimes are considered violations of the Graves Act and carry mandatory prison sentences.
Morristown, New Jersey Certain Persons Offense Attorneys
At the Morristown, New Jersey law firm of Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz, the firm’s criminal defense lawyers defend clients against charges of being a felon in possession of a firearm. Although it is challenging work, our experienced attorneys are frequently able to develop defense strategies that minimize the consequences of a conviction for the client. With a former criminal prosecutor and a certified criminal defense lawyer (certified by the Supreme Court of the State of New Jersey) on the legal team, the firm is well positioned to identify and implement arguments that have the best chance of achieving a positive outcome in the circumstances.
Who Is Considered a “Felon” in New Jersey?
For the purposes of New Jersey firearms laws, a felon convicted of any of the following felony charges may not own or possess a weapon:
- Aggravated assault
- Sexual assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
A conviction for any type of violent felony puts people in the category of being ineligible to possess firearms in NJ.
Penalties for Felon in Possession in NJ
If convicted of being a felon in possession of a firearm, or even ammunition, in New Jersey, you will add a fourth degree felony conviction to your criminal record. In addition, you could be:
- Placed on probation
- Sentenced to 18 months in prison
- Sentenced to 364 days in the county jail
- Required to pay a fine of $10,000
Of course, you will also be prohibited once again from possessing a weapon.
Possible Defenses Against Felon in Possession Charges
- Although it may not be appropriate in all circumstances, an important defense against felon in possession charges is that law enforcement violated your Fourth Amendment rights. If police conducted an illegal search of your property that led to them finding the weapon, the search becomes inadmissible and the case should be dismissed.
- Another possible defense against certain persons offense charges is that your original felony conviction was flawed and should be overturned.
- The convicted felon possessed the weapon only because they had removed it from someone else who threatened to shoot
Our legal team, which handles both state and federal gun charge cases, is known for thoroughness, persistence, and dedication in developing defense strategies in cases involving felon in possession charges.
Call the Morris County Gun Crime Defense Lawyers of Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz
Hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer to protect your rights when charged with possession of a weapon while a felon. Contact the law firm of Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz and let us protect your rights. Call now to schedule an appointment for a free initial consultation and learn how we can help.