Morristown Sexual Assault Defense Attorneys

Morris County Aggravated Sexual Assault Defense Lawyers | Rape Charges

Sexual assault is a felony crime in New Jersey, punishable by five to 10 years in prison. Aggravated sexual assault is a felony crime in New Jersey, punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison.

If you have been charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault in New Jersey, do not put your freedom in jeopardy. Retain an experienced criminal defense attorney who will aggressively defend your rights.

Call 800-481-9840/ 973-267-8895 today to contact Hanlon Dunn Robertson Schwartz. Our criminal defense attorneys have more than 100 years of combined experience. Our criminal defense team includes a former prosecutor and a certified* criminal trial attorney.

Rape | Statutory Rape | Sexual Assault and Aggravated Sexual Assault

In New Jersey, a person accused of forcible rape will typically be charged with aggravated sexual assault, whereas a person accused of statutory rape (sex with a minor) could be arrested for either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, depending on the age of the alleged victim.

An aggravated sexual assault can occur in a number of different ways, including:

  • Sex with a minor who is less than 13, regardless of whether or not force was used or threatened
  • Sex with a minor age 13-15 if the alleged offender is a parent, relative or person acting in certain positions of authority
  • Sex with an adult or minor if the alleged offender uses a gun, causes severe bodily injury to the alleged victim, or the alleged victim is incapacitated or helpless

Sexual assault occurs when an alleged offender has sex with a minor between the ages of 13 and 16, and the alleged offender is at least four years older than the minor. Consent is not a defense to sexual assault.

Since a conviction for either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault can result in significant criminal penalties, it is critical that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

Contact Us

To speak with one of our Morristown sexual assault defense lawyers, call 800-481-9840/ 973-267-8895 or contact us by e-mail.

* Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey